One voice for the Office of Sheriff

Deputy Sheriff

2014 Award Winners

We are pleased to announce that Douglas C. Gillespie, Sheriff of Clark County, Nevada has been selected as the 2014 Ferris E. Lucas Award for Sheriff of the Year. Sheriff Gillespie is currently serving his second term as Sheriff of Clark County. He worked his way up trough the ranks at the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department and was elected Sheriff in 2007. Sheriff Gillespie is a 30-year law enforcement veteran. During this time, Sheriff Gillespie has been an active member of his State Association and has contributed greatly to the law enforcement endeavors of his county and the State of Nevada.
Additional 2014 Award Winners are listed below. All awards will be presented during the NSA Annual Conference in Fort Worth, Texas in June.
2014 Charles “Bud” Meeks Merit Award for Deputy Sheriff of the Year
Detective John P. Bourque, Kennebec County, Maine
2014 Charles “Bud” Meeks Valor Award for Deputy Sheriff of the Year
Deputy William Dunford, San Diego County, California
2014 Reserve Deputy Sheriff of the Year
Reserve Officer Bill Coyle, Jacksonville, Florida
2014 Chaplain of the Year
Sergeant Brian Boyer, Berks County, Pennsylvania
2014 Law Enforcement Explorer Post Advisor Award
Deputy James Butterfield, Pinellas County, Florida
2014 Corrections/Jail Innovations Award
Chief Deputy John Russell, Yavapai County, AZ
2014 Court Security Agency/Professional of the Year
Deputy John Demase, Palm Beach County, FL