One voice for the Office of Sheriff

Deputy Sheriff

Our Mission

The National Sheriffs' Association is dedicated to raising the level of professionalism among sheriffs, their deputies, and others in the field of criminal justice public safety and law enforcement so that they may perform their jobs in the best possible manner and better serve the people of their cities, counties or jurisdictions. Learn More learn more arrow

New Board Members Sworn In

We are pleased to announce the following appointments to the NSA Board of Directors. The newly appointed sheriffs were sworn in during the NSA Winter Conference Board Meeting, on February 2, 2013 at the JW Marriott Hotel in Washington, DC.
  • Sheriff Susan Benton, Highlands County, Florida
  • Sheriff Scott L. Jay, Beckham County, Oklahoma
  • Sheriff Christopher C. Kirk, Brazos County, Texas
Sheriff Benton, Sheriff Jay and Sheriff Kirk will be placed on the ballot at the NSA Annual Conference in Charlotte, North Carolina on June 25, 2013 to determine their continued position on the Board as well as the length of the term. At this time, there are four positions open on the Board of Directors with varying terms of one, two or three years.