Traffic Safety

Traffic Safety

Traffic Safety Awards

J. Stannard Baker Award 

The deadline for the J. Stannard Baker Award for Highway Safety is May 1, 2015!  Applications must be received in the NSA office.  Click here for your application. This law enforcement award is sponsored by NHTSA, Northwestern University Center for Public Safety, and OnStar.

Traffic Safety Unit Award

The application deadline is May 1, 2015. The same application is used for The Traffic Enforcement Safety Unit Award and the IACP/NSA Law Enforcement Challenge. You do not have to be an NSA or IACP member to submit a NLEC application. However, you will need to create a username and password in order to log into the application system. For the application, click here

National Law Enforcement Challenge (pdf) NOW ONLINE!

The National Law Enforcement Challenge (NLEC) is a national traffic safety awards program that recognizes excellent law enforcement traffic safety programs. The program focuses on three major traffic safety priorities: occupant protection, impaired driving, and speeding. It also provides law enforcement agencies an opportunity to make a difference in the communities they serve, to learn from one another, and to establish future goals in traffic safety enforcement and education. Click here for more info.
A Step by Step Guide to Completing the Law Enforcement Challenge Application:  This guide is designed to assist you in assembling an application for the National Law Enforcement Challenge (NLEC) as well as the state challenge programs that are using the same electronic system. These simple recommendations will make it easier for evaluators to locate the necessary information, thus giving your application an edge that could make a winning difference.

For questions, contact:

Ed Hutchision
Director of Traffic Safety