One voice for the Office of Sheriff

Deputy Sheriff

Our Mission

The National Sheriffs' Association is dedicated to raising the level of professionalism among sheriffs, their deputies, and others in the field of criminal justice public safety and law enforcement so that they may perform their jobs in the best possible manner and better serve the people of their cities, counties or jurisdictions. Learn More learn more arrow

Traffic Safety Unit Award

The National Sheriffs' Association (NSA) and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) are proud to announce the annual Traffic Enforcement Safety Unit Award. This Award is one means by which to contribute to safer highways. The award was created to recognize traffic enforcement units that exemplify the cutting edge in traffic safety programs. Unlike the J. Stannard Baker Award, which seeks to recognize individuals in traffic safety, the Traffic Safety Unit Award will be a unit or office based award. The criteria evaluates the quality of each participating agency's program in terms of office policy and training, public information and education, enforcement activity and effectiveness.

The Traffic Safety Unit Award will target three major traffic safety priorities: occupant protection, impaired driving, and speeding. 

The Traffic Enforcement Safety Award will allow Sheriffs' offices to set comprehensive goals, to strive to reach new heights, to share their experiences with their counterparts, and to be recognized for their traffic safety accomplishments; in short, to make significant differences in the communities their officers serve professionally each day of every year. This competition will have no losers, only winners, for saving lives and reducing the frequency and severity of injuries are the true rewards of each agency's efforts.

Every Sheriff's office, regardless of size, is encouraged to take part in this challenge. If you have questions regarding your traffic units' efforts toward traffic safety, please contact:

    National Sheriffs' Association
    1450 Duke Street
    Alexandria, Virginia, 22314
    ATTN: Ed Hutchison, Director, Traffic Safety
    (800) 424-7827
The same application is used for The Traffic Enforcement Safety Unit Award and the IACP/NSA Law Enforcement Challenge. For the application, click here
The application deadline is May 1, 2013.

Current Winners of the Traffic Safety Unit Award

2011 Winner: Twiggs County Sheriff’s Office, GA
Sponsors of the Traffic Safety Unit Award: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

Previous Winners of the Traffic Safety Unit Award

2013 Winner: Forsyth County Sheriff's Office, GA
2009 Winner: Tift County Sheriff's Office, GA
2008 Winner: Wythe County Sheriff’s Office, VA
2007 Winner: Coweta County Sheriff's Office, GA
2006 Winner:  Forsyth County Sheriff's Office, GA 
2005 Winner:  Clackamas County Sheriff's Office, OR 
2004 Winner: Stafford County Sheriff's Office, VA
First Runner Up: Franklin County Sheriff's Office, GA
Second Runner Up: Collier County Sheriff's Office, FL
2003 Winner:  Forsyth County Sheriff's Office, GA
First Runner Up:  Jacksonville Sheriff's Office, FL
Second Runner Up:  Osceola County Sheriff's Office, FL