September 6, 2012

The Honorable Harry Reid Senate Majority Leader 522 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Patrick Leahy Chair, Senate Judiciary Committee 433 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Mitch McConnell Senate Minority Leader 135 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Charles Grassley Ranking member, Senate Judiciary Committee 361A Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Senators Reid, McConnell, Leahy and Grassley:

We, the undersigned groups, represent a broad cross-section of the criminal and juvenile justice systems in states and local communities across the nation. We write today to offer our strongest support for H.R. 6062, the Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant Program Reauthorization Act of 2012, which passed the House by voice vote on August 1st and was received in the Senate on August 2nd. Under current law, the Byrne Justice Assistance Grant (Byrne JAG) program is authorized through September 30, 2012. We consider it of the highest priority that the program is reauthorized before it is allowed to expire. Therefore, we urge the Senate's quick approval of H.R. 6062 which will extend the program's authorization through Fiscal Year 2017.

Byrne JAG is the cornerstone federal crime-fighting program, supporting the federal government's crucial role in spurring innovation, as well as testing and replicating evidence-based practices nationwide. States and localities use Byrne JAG to test emerging and evidence-based approaches to the public safety challenges in their jurisdictions. Because Byrne JAG is flexible, states and local communities are able to use Byrne JAG to address needs and fill gaps across the entire criminal justice system. Flexibility is a hallmark of the Byrne JAG program and one that is vitally important. Criminal justice is a system, the activities and priorities of one component impacting the activities and priorities of the other components. Only when the system is functioning in balance can the public safety truly be protected.

We strongly support the reauthorization of the Byrne JAG program before its expiration in recognition of the central role Byrne JAG plays in preventing victimization and fighting crime in neighborhoods across our country and in leveraging other federal, state, local and private dollars to support the balanced functioning of the criminal justice system. Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Jack Cutrone President

National Criminal Justice Association (NCJA)

Juck Cutrocce

Jany Amerson

Sheriff Larry Amerson President

National Sheriffs Association (NSA)

om cochran

Tom Cochran
CEO and Executive Director
The U.S. Conference of Mayors (USCM)

Darrel W Stephens Executive Director

Major Cities Chiefs Association (MCCA)

Dard US-

Sheriff Rich Stanek

President

Major County Sheriffs' Association (MCSA)

Ron Brooks President

National Narcotics' Officers Associations' Coalition (NNOAC)

Dennis Hallion

Executive Director

National Troopers Coalition (NTC)



Carl Wicklund
Executive Director
American Probation and Parole Association (APPA)

David LaBahn President/CEO

Association of Prosecuting Attorneys (APA)

Larry E. Naake Executive Director

National Association of Counties (NACo)

William T. Pound Executive Director

National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL)

Tobal Karasci

Robert J. Kasabian

Executive Director

American Jail Association (AJA)

Win

Will Marling
Executive Director
National Organization for Victim Assistance (NOVA)

Michael Thompson Executive Director

Council of State Governments Justice Center

Jan Scully President

National District Attorneys Association (NDAA)

Arthur T. Dean

Major General, U.S. Army, Retired

Chairman and CEO

Community Anti-Drug Coalitions of America (CADCA)

Gabrielle de la Gueronniere

Director for National Policy

Legal Action Center (LAC)

Dan Edg

Dan Eddy

Executive Director

National Association of Crime Victims' Compensation Boards (NACVCB)

Tim Murray
Executive Director

Pretrial Justice Institute

Ronald C.S. Coan

Ronald C. Sloan

President

Association of State Criminal Investigative Agencies (ASCIA)

West Huddleston

Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director

National Association of Drug Court Professionals (NADCP)

Mai Fernandez

Executive Director

National Center for Victims of Crime (NCVC)

Mai Jeny

Susan A Palle

Susan Valle President

National Association of Prosecutor Coordinators (NAPC)

Scott Berkowitz

President

Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network (RAINN)

William J. Johnson Executive Director

William of for

National Association of Police Organizations (NAPO)

Ron Hawley

Executive Director

SEARCH

Philip Duane Steen

President

National Alliance of State Drug Enforcement Agencies (NASDEA)

Roberta Meyers Peeples

Director

National H.I.R.E. Network



Dennis Slocumb Executive Vice President International Union of Police Associations (IUPA)

liene slayelis

Diane DeAngelis

President

Association of VAWA Administrators (AVA)

Bruce Ferrell President

National Alliance of Gang Investigators' Associations (NAGIA)

Robert I. L. Morrison Executive Director

National Association of State Alcohol and Drug Abuse Directors (NASADAD)

Edwin Maldonado National President

National Latino Peace Officers Association (NLPOA)

Dege + Camelle Camp

Soupelle

George and Camille Camp

Co-Executive Directors

Association of State Correctional Administrators (ASCA)

Eduard Loughum

Edward J. Loughran
Executive Director
Council of Juvenile Correctional Administrators (CJCA)

James A. Gondles, Jr. Executive Director

American Correctional Association (ACA)

Steve Ambrosini

Executive Director

IJIS Institute

Stacie Rumenap

President

Stop Child Predators