One voice for the Office of Sheriff

Deputy Sheriff

Our Mission

The National Sheriffs' Association is dedicated to raising the level of professionalism among sheriffs, their deputies, and others in the field of criminal justice public safety and law enforcement so that they may perform their jobs in the best possible manner and better serve the people of their cities, counties or jurisdictions. Learn More learn more arrow

Board of Directors

Sheriff Robert Arnold
Rutherford County, TN
Sheriff Paul Babeu
Pinal County, AZ
Sheriff Susan Benton
Highlands County, FL






Sheriff William Bohnyak
Orange County, VT
Sheriff Michael J. Brown
Sheriff Michael J. Brown*
Bedford County, VA


Sheriff Keith R. Cain
Sheriff Keith R. Cain*
Daviess County, KY


Sheriff Ira Edwards
Sheriff Ira Edwards
Clark County, GA


Sheriff Stanley Glanz
Sheriff Stanley Glanz*
Tulsa County, OK


Sheriff Mike Hale
Sheriff Mike Hale
Jefferson County, AL
Sheriff Jack “Skip” Hornecker
Fremont County, WY
Sheriff John W. Ingram
Brunswick County, NC
Sheriff Christopher C. Kirk
Brazos County, Texas
Sheriff John Layton
Sheriff Paul Laney
Cass County, ND






Sheriff Huey Hoss Mack
Baldwin County, AL

Sheriff David Mahoney






Sheriff David Mahoney
Dane County, WI
Sheriff Brad Riley
Sheriff Brad Riley*
Cabarrus County, NC
Sheriff Ronald G. Spike
Sheriff Ronald G. Spike
Yates County, NY
Sheriff Vernon P. Stanforth
Sheriff Vernon P. Stanforth*
Fayette County, OH
Sheriff Mark Wasylyshyn
Sheriff Mark Wasylyshyn
Wood County, OH
Sheriff Carolyn Bunny Welsh
Sheriff Carolyn Bunny Welsh
Chester County, PA
Ex-Officio John Thompson
Interim Executive Director
NSA General Counsel
Richard M. Weintraub
NSA General Counsel
Sheriff Dwight E. Radcliff
Sheriff Dwight E. Radcliff
NSA Corporate Representative

*Board member serving on NSA Executive Committee

All Past Presidents are members of the Board of Directors