One voice for the Office of Sheriff

Deputy Sheriff

Our Mission

The National Sheriffs' Association is dedicated to raising the level of professionalism among sheriffs, their deputies, and others in the field of criminal justice public safety and law enforcement so that they may perform their jobs in the best possible manner and better serve the people of their cities, counties or jurisdictions. Learn More learn more arrow

Executive Director's Award

This award was introduced several  years ago to recognize outstanding contributions to NSA and its executive leadership team.


2008   Sheriff (Ret.) F. DeWayne Beggs - Cleveland County, OK

2009   Sheriff Paul H. Fitzgerald - Story County, IA

2010   Director Robert S. Mueller, Jr. - FBI, Washington, DC

2011   Suzanne F. Sawyer - Concerns of Police Survivors

2012   Sheriff Dwight Radcliff - Pickaway County, OH

2013   Sheriff (ret.) Dan Smith - Bell County, TX