One voice for the Office of Sheriff

Deputy Sheriff

Our Mission

The National Sheriffs' Association is dedicated to raising the level of professionalism among sheriffs, their deputies, and others in the field of criminal justice public safety and law enforcement so that they may perform their jobs in the best possible manner and better serve the people of their cities, counties or jurisdictions. Learn More learn more arrow

President's Award

The President’s Award, given to an individual or individuals in recognition of their contributions to, and support of, the NSA President during his year in office. 


1984   Francis M. Mullen, Jr. - Drug Enforcement Administration

1985   Stephen E. Higgins - Bureau of Alcohol, Tobaco and Firearms

1986   Jim Cotter - CALEA

1987   Norman A. Carlson - Bureau of Prisons

1988   Stanley L. Morris - U.S. Marhals Service

1989   Eugene Cromartie - General, U.S. Army, C.I.C

1990   John E. Otto - Federal Bureau of Investigations

1991   Courtney A. Evans - NSA General Counsel

1992   Suzanne F. Sawyer - Concerns of Police Survivors

1993   Henry E. Hudson - U.S. Marshals Service

1994   A.N. "Bubby" Moser, Jr. - NSA Assistant Executive Director

1995   Richard L. Germond - Sheriff, Lawrence County, MI

1996   John Ashcroft - U.S. Senator (R-MO)

1997   Janet Reno - U.S Attorney General

1998   James Earl Jones - Actor

1999   John Walsh - "America's Most Wanted"

2000   Betsy Cantrell - TRIAD

2001   Ross Mirmelstein, CMP - NSA Director of Meetings

2002   L. Cary Bittick - U.S. Marshals Service

2002   Bill Hutson - Sheriff, Cobb County, GA

2003   Thad Cochran - U.S. Senator, Mississippi

2004   Louis F. Quijas - Assistant Director, FBI

2005   Thomas N. Faust - Executive Director NSA

2006   Robert D. "Bobby" Timmons - Alabama Sheriffs' Association

2007   John Cary Bittick - Monroe County, GA

2008   Sheriff Harry Lee - Jefferson Parish, LA

2009   Barbara Mikulski - U.S. Senator, Maryland

2010   Sheriff Roger A. Scott - Dekalb County, IL

2011   Joseph R. Biden - Vice President of the United States

2011   Mark R. Warner - U.S. Senator, Virginia

2012   Harlin McEwen - NSA Technology Advisor, Ithaca, NY

2012   Andrew Seybold - NSA Communications Advisor, Santa Barbara, CA

2013   Gary Deland - Santa Clara, UT

2013   Tate McCotter - Midway, UT