School Safety and Security Committee

Chair: Sheriff Scott Mascher, Yavapai County, AZ.

Vice Chair: Sheriff William “Bill” Brueggeman, Cass County, NE

Staff Liaison: Jessica Vanderpool

Subcommittees: School Safety Resource Website Subcommittee


The National Sheriffs’ Association in partnership with national and local sheriffs are committed to enhancing the ability and proficiency of local responders to prevent, prepare and respond effectively to school safety and mass violent events occurring in our schools.


To provide the appropriate uniformity in prevention and response to mass violent events within our schools. 


Identify education, training, and resources for law enforcement, mental health providers, and school administrators to assist in improving school safety surrounding violence and common indicators based on past incident case studies for prevention and response of mass casualty events at our schools.

<<< Back to Committees