Traffic Safety Committee

NSA’s Traffic Safety Committee continually works to address traffic safety issues, facilitate traffic safety program implementation, provide technical assistance, and offer general support to the Office of Sheriff and other agencies.

Chair: Sheriff (ret.) John Whetsel, Oklahoma Co., OK

Co-Chair: Sheriff Brad Cole, Christian Co., MO

Staff Liaison: Candace Hill

NSA understands and builds upon the unique characteristics of the office of sheriff and utilizes NHTSA resources and the Traffic Safety Committee to identify and target outreach measures to promote traffic safety visibility within the office of sheriff as well as other law enforcement agencies. 

The Traffic Safety Committee works to offer general support to the Office of Sheriff and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) staff in developing traffic safety plans that target NHTSA’s national traffic safety priority issues. These include:

  1. Initiating special studies under the general plan of the NSA Traffic Safety Committee and producing draft resolutions; and
  2. Developing guidelines and programs for law enforcement agencies. The purpose of this plan is to gain appropriate feedback from NSA membership and to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of the traffic safety program.

NSA’s Traffic Safety Committee promotes and distributes resources and provides recommended procedures for traffic safety program implementation in law enforcement agencies across the county. NSA also solicits feedback from its membership to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of existing traffic safety programs.

More information is provided at

For more information, contact:

Candace Hill
Program Manager, Traffic Safety